State-by-State Guide to 2020 Minimum Wage Rates

Dec 12, 2019 | Domestic Workers' Rights, Tax & Wage Laws

2020 minimum wage rates

Our state-by-state guide to 2020 minimum wage rates will help ensure you’re following the law when paying your household employee.

Household employees like nannies, housekeepers, and in-home senior caregivers are required to be paid at least the prevailing minimum wage hourly rate. This will be the highest of the federal, state or local rates. The federal rate of $7.25/hour hasn’t changed for quite some time. However, many states, counties, and cities have much higher rates.

Some of these rates will increase in 2020.

Here are the 2020 minimum wage rates effective January 1 that are relevant to household employers. The New York State minimum wage rates increase on December 31, 2019. We’ll also note when a minimum wage is scheduled to increase during the year.

Alabama

$7.25/hour – No state minimum wage rate. The federal rate applies.

Birmingham

$10.10/hour.

Alaska

$10.19/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Arizona

$12/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Arkansas

$7.25/hour – The federal rate will applies to household employers with fewer than four employees. The state rate of $10/hour applies for employers with four or more employees.

California

$12/hour – Effective January 1, 2020, for employers with 25 or fewer employees. This rate will increase $1/hour every year until it hits $15/hour in 2023.

City-specific rates

See the chart below for local rates that exceed the state’s minimum wage.

Colorado

$12/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Connecticut

$10.10/hour – Increases to $12/hour on September 1, 2020.

Delaware

$9.25/hour

District of Columbia

$14/hour – Increases to $15/hour on July 1, 2020.

Florida

$8.56/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Georgia

$7.25/hour – The state’s minimum wage rate of $5.15/hour doesn’t apply to household employees as it is below the federal rate.

Hawaii

$10.10/hour

Idaho

$7.25/hour

Illinois

$9.25/hour – Effective January 1, 2020. Increases to $10/hour on July 1, 2020. Then the rate will increase by $1/hour every January 1 until it reaches $15/hour in 2025.

Chicago

$13/hour – Increases on July 1, 2020, based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI).

Cook County (outside of Chicago)

$12/hour

Indiana

$7.25/hour

Iowa

$7.25/hour

Kansas

$7.25/hour

Kentucky

$7.25/hour

Louisiana

$7.25/hour – No state minimum wage rate. The federal rate applies.

Maine

$12/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Maryland

$11/hour – Effective January 1, 2020. Increases $0.60/hour every January 1 until 2026. On July 1, 2026, the rate increases to $15/hour.

Montgomery County

$12.50/hour – For employers with 10 or fewer employees. Increases to $13/hour on July 1, 2020.

Prince George County

$11.50/hour

Massachusetts

$12.75/hour – Effective January 1, 2020. Increases to $13.50/hour in 2021, $14.25/hour in 2022, and $15/hour in 2023.

Michigan

$9.65/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Minnesota

$8.15/hour – Effective January 1, 2020, for small employers.

Minneapolis

$11/hour – for employers with 100 or fewer employees. Increases to $11.75/hour on July 1, 2020, $12.50/hour in 2021, $13.50 in 2022, $14.50 in 2023, and $15/hour in 2024.

Mississippi

$7.25/hour – No state minimum wage rate. The federal rate applies.

Missouri

$9.45/hour – Effective January 1, 2020. Increases $10.30/hour in 2021, $11.15/hour in 2022, and $12/hour in 2023.

Montana

$8.65/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Nebraska

$9/hour

Nevada

$8.25 (without employee health benefits); $7.25/hour (with qualified employee health benefits) – Increases to $9/hour and $8/hour on July 1, 2020, $9.75/hour and $8.75/hour in 2021, $10.50/hour and $9.50/hour in 2022; $11.25/hour and $10.25/hour in 2023, and $12/hour and $11/hour in 2024.

New Hampshire

$7.25/hour – No state minimum wage rate. The federal rate applies.

New Jersey

$10.30/hour – Applies to employers with less than six employees. For employers with six or more employees, the rate is $11/hour.

New Mexico

$9/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Albuquerque

$9.20/hour

Bernalillo County

$9.20/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Las Cruces

$10.25/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Santa Fe

$11.80/hour

New York

$11.80/hour – Effective December 31, 2019.

New York City

$15/hour – Effective December 31, 2019, for employers with 10 or fewer employees.

Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester Counties

$13/hour – Effective December 31, 2019.

North Carolina

$7.25/hour

North Dakota

$7.25/hour

Ohio

$7.25/hour – Ohio has a special minimum wage for businesses with annual gross receipts of more than $319,000 per year ($8.70/hour effective January 1, 2020). However, household employers follow the lower rate.

Oklahoma

$7.25/hour

Oregon

To determine which rate applies to your county, visit Oregon Minimum Wage Rate Summary.

Portland

$12.50/hour – Increases to $13.25/hour on July 1, 2020; $14/hour in 2021; and $14.75/hour in 2022.

Standard

$11.25/hour – Increases to $12/hour on July 1, 2020; $12.75/hour in 2021; and $13.50/hour in 2022.

Non-urban counties

$11/hour – Increases to $11.50/hour on July 1, 2020; $12/hour in 2021; and $12.50/hour in 2022.

Pennsylvania

$7.25/hour

Rhode Island

$10.50/hour

South Carolina

$7.25/hour – No state minimum wage rate. The federal rate applies.

South Dakota

$9.30/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Tennessee

$7.25/hour – No state minimum wage rate. The federal rate applies.

Texas

$7.25/hour

Utah

$7.25/hour

Vermont

$10.96/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Virginia

$7.25/hour

Washington

$13.50/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Seattle

$15.75/hour – Effective January 1, 2020, for employers with 500 or fewer employees. If you pay $2.25/hour toward medical benefits, the minimum wage drops to $13.50/hour.

West Virginia

$7.25/hour – The state minimum wage of $8.75 applies if you have six or more employees working at any one separate, distinct and permanent work location.

Wisconsin

$7.25/hour

Wyoming

$7.25/hour – The state’s minimum wage rate of $5.15/hour doesn’t apply to household employees as it is below the federal rate.

California Local Minimum Wage Rates

Alameda

$13.50/hour – Increases to $15/hour on July 1, 2020.

Belmont

$13.50/hour – Increases to $15/hour on July 1, 2020.

Berkeley

$15.59/hour – Indexed to inflation with an increase on July 1, 2020.

Cupertino

$15.35/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Daly City

$13.75/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

El Cerrito

$15.37/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Emeryville

$16.30/hour – Increases to $16.42/hour on July 1, 2020.

Freemont

$12/hour – Increases to $13.50/hour for small employers on July 1, 2020.

Los Altos

$15.40/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Los Angeles (city and county)

$13.25/hour for small employers – Increases to $14.25/hour on July 1, 2020.

Malibu

$13.25/hour – Increases to $14.25/hour on July 1, 2020.

Milpitas

$15/hour – Indexed to inflation with an increase on July 1, 2020.

Mountain View

$16.05/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Oakland

$14.14/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Palo Alto

$15.40/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Pasadena

$13.25/hour for small employers – Increases to $14.25/hour on July 1, 2020.

Richmond

$15/hour

San Diego

$13/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

San Francisco

$15.59/hour

San Jose

$15.25/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

San Leandro

$14/hour – Increases to $15/hour on July 1, 2020.

San Mateo

$15.38/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Santa Clara

$15.40/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Santa Monica

$13.25/hour for small employers – Increases to $15/hour on July 1, 2020.

Santa Rosa

$12/hour – Increases to $14/hour on July 1, 2020, for employers with 25 or fewer employees.

South San Fransisco

$15/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

Sunnyvale

$16.05/hour – Effective January 1, 2020.

GTM can help

Why take on nanny taxes and payroll yourself? Let GTM Payroll Services manage it all for you and remove the risks, hassles, and worries of complying with federal and state tax, wage, and labor laws. Call (800) 929-9213 for a free, no-obligation consultation with a household employment expert.

Download The Complete Guide to Household Payroll

Get our complimentary guide and learn everything you need to know about paying your employees legally and filing your taxes the right way.

Subscribe to our Blog

The weekly Household Employer Digest delivered to your inbox.

Learn more and subscribe.

Blog Categories


Click on a tag for related articles:

Get a Free Consultation

Get help from our experts on how to manage your household tax and payroll.

Call Today!
800-929-9213

Mon – Fri 8:30 am – 8 pm ET

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This