Your Guide to July 1 Minimum Wage Increases

Jun 21, 2019 | Tax & Wage Laws

july-1-minimum-wage

Stay compliant with wage laws! Here is your guide to July 1 minimum wage increases.

It’s that time of year again. Several states and cities are increasing their minimum wage rates on July 1 to coincide with the start of their fiscal years. Remember household employees like nannies and in-home senior caregivers must be paid at least minimum wage. The highest hourly wage of the federal, state, and local rates apply. Since the federal minimum wage is still $7.25/hour, your state or local rate may pertain.

Here is your guide to July 1 minimum wage increases:

State – Locality Minimum Wage Starting July 1, 2019
California – Alameda $13.50
California – Emeryville $16.30
California – Los Angeles $13.25
California – Malibu $13.25
California – Milpitas $15
California – Pasadena $13.25
California – San Francisco $15.59
California – San Leandro $14
California – Santa Monica $13.25
Illinois – Chicago $13
Illinois – Cook County (outside of Chicago city limits) $12
Maine – Portland $11.11
Maryland – Montgomery County $12.50
Minnesota – Minneapolis $11
New Jersey $10 (for employers with 6 or more workers)
Oregon – Portland Metro $12.50
Oregon – standard $11.25 (rates by county)
Oregon – non-urban counties $11 (rates by county)
Washington, D.C. $14

Also, check out our State-by-State Guide to 2019 Minimum Wage Rates.

Download The Complete Guide to Household Payroll

Get our complimentary guide and learn everything you need to know about paying your employees legally and filing your taxes the right way.

Subscribe to our Blog

The weekly Household Employer Digest delivered to your inbox.

Learn more and subscribe.

Blog Categories


Click on a tag for related articles:

Get a Free Consultation

Get help from our experts on how to manage your household tax and payroll.

Call Today!
800-929-9213

Mon – Fri 8:30 am – 8 pm ET

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This