minimum-wageUnder the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), employers – including household employers – in all states must pay their employees at least the state’s minimum wage. This wage rate often changes at the beginning of a new year, so it’s important for families with domestic workers to make note of any changes and begin plans to increase an employee’s wage. The following list shows the states that have 2016 minimum wage changes and when those changes are effective.

State minimum wage changes effective December 31, 2015

New York: $9.00 per hour.

West Virginia: $8.75 per hour.

State minimum wage changes effective January 1, 2016

Alaska: $9.75 per hour.

Arkansas: $8.00 per hour, increasing to $8.50 per hour on January 1, 2017.

California: $10.00 per hour.

Connecticut: $9.60 per hour, increasing to $10.10 per hour on January 1, 2017.

Hawaii: $8.50 per hour, increasing to $9.25 per hour on January 1, 2017, and $10.10 on January 1, 2018.

Massachusetts: $10.00 per hour, increasing to $11.00 per hour on January 1, 2017.

Michigan: $8.50 per hour, increasing to $8.90 per hour on January 1, 2017, and $9.25 on January 1, 2018.

Nebraska: $9.00 per hour.

Rhode Island: $9.60 per hour.

South Dakota: $8.55 per hour.

Vermont: $9.60 per hour, increasing to $10.00 per hour on January 1, 2017, and $10.50 on January 1, 2018.

State minimum wage changes effective July 1, 2016

Washington D.C: $11.50 per hour on July 1, 2016.

Maryland: $8.75 per hour on July 1, 2016, $9.25 on July 1, 2017, and $10.10 on July 1, 2018.

State minimum wage changes effective August 1, 2015

Minnesota: $7.75 per hour for small employers.

 

For more information, contact GTM at (888) 432-7972.


Click on a tag for related articles: , , , , ,

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This