Several states, counties, and cities are increasing their minimum wage rates on July 1, 2020.
Household employees like nannies, housekeepers, and in-home senior caregivers are required by law to be paid at least minimum wage. The highest hourly wage of the federal, state, and local rates applies. The federal minimum wage rate has remained at $7.25/hour for several years. During this time, many states and cities have surpassed that rate and now apply for household employees.
Here is your guide to July 1, 2020 minimum wage increases:
|State – Locality||Minimum Wage Starting July 1, 2020|
|California – Alameda||$15|
|California – Berkeley||$16.07|
|California – Emeryville||$16.84|
|California – Freemont||$13.50|
|California – Los Angeles (city and county)||$14.25|
|California – Malibu||$14.25|
|California – Milpitas||$15.40|
|California – Pasadena||$14.25|
|California – San Fransisco (city and county)||$16.07|
|California – San Leandro||$15|
|California – Santa Monica||$14.25|
|California – Santa Rosa||$14|
|Illinois – Chicago||$13.50|
|Illinois – Cook County||$13|
|Maryland – Montgomery County||$13|
|Minnesota – St. Paul||$9.25|
|Minnesota – Minneapolis||$11.75|
|Nevada||$9/hour (without employee health benefits);
$8/hour (with qualified employee health benefits)
|Oregon – Portland Metro||$13.25|
|Oregon – Standard||$12 (rates by county)|
|Oregon – Non-urban counties||$11.50 (rates by county)|
Note: This list may not be inclusive of all jurisdictions that increased their minimum wage rate on July 1, 2020. Check local wage laws to ensure your compliance.
Download The Complete Guide to Household Payroll
Get our complimentary guide and learn everything you need to know about paying your employees legally and filing your taxes the right way.